# Defer Sharing Calculation

In some circumstances, it might be appropriate to use a feature called *defer sharing calculation*, which allows users to defer the processing of sharing rules until after new users, rules, and other content have been loaded.

An organization’s administrator can use a defer sharing calculation permission to suspend and resume sharing calculations, and to manage two processes: group membership calculation and sharing rule calculation. The administrator can suspend these calculations when performing a large number of configuration changes, which might lead to very long sharing rule evaluations or timeouts, and resume calculations during an organization’s maintenance period. This deferral can help users process a large number of sharing-related configuration changes quickly during working hours, and then let the recalculation process run overnight between business days or over a weekend.
