Delete a Second-Generation Managed Package or Package Version
Use the sf package version delete and sf package delete commands to delete packages and package versions that you no longer need.
To delete a package or package version, users need the Delete Second-Generation Packages user permission. Before you delete a package, first delete all associated package versions.
| Package Type | Can I delete beta packages and package versions? | Can I delete released packages and package versions? |
|---|---|---|
| Second-Generation Managed Packages | Yes | No |
| Unlocked Packages | Yes | Yes |
Considerations for Deleting a Package or Package Version
- Deletion is permanent.
- Attempts to install a deleted package version will fail.
- Before deleting, ensure that the package or package version isn’t referenced as a dependency.
Examples:
These CLI commands can’t be used with first-generation managed packages or package versions. To delete a first-generation managed package, see View Package Detailsin the First-Generation Managed Packaging Developer Guide.