Defer Sharing Calculation

In some circumstances, it might be appropriate to use a feature called defer sharing calculation, which allows users to defer the processing of sharing rules until after new users, rules, and other content have been loaded.

An organization’s administrator can use a defer sharing calculation permission to suspend and resume sharing calculations, and to manage two processes: group membership calculation and sharing rule calculation. The administrator can suspend these calculations when performing a large number of configuration changes, which might lead to very long sharing rule evaluations or timeouts, and resume calculations during an organization’s maintenance period. This deferral can help users process a large number of sharing-related configuration changes quickly during working hours, and then let the recalculation process run overnight between business days or over a weekend.